Crock Pot Picante Chicken & Black Bean Soup

It has been a wonderful Friday. I got to coach morning clients and taught a bootcamp class. I feel so blessed to get to do work that I am passionate about and enjoy. Thomas Edison said, “I never did a day’s work in my life. It was always fun.” Sammy and me are taking a sun break now out by the pool to soak in the sunshine. The weather has fluctuated so much, but today it’s a nice 60 degrees:)
029

This week the weather has been colder that usual, so I made a bean soup.  My family says it’s the best they have ever had, so I’m  happy to share it with you!  I’m sure my friends and family up north will appreciate this heartwarming bowl of soup.  The recipe comes from skinnytaste.com  This website has great recipes & I’m looking forward to trying more of them.

025

Her food photography is amazing & I wanted to give the recipe the presentation it lives up to, but I will share my actual pic at the end of the article;)

Crock Pot Chicken and Black Bean Soup Skinnytaste.com

Servings: 7 • Size: 1 1/2 cups • Old Pts: 6 pts • Weight Watchers Points+: 6 pts Calories: 306 • Fat: 6 g • Protein: 28 g • Carb: 37.5 g • Fiber: 13.5 g • Sugar: 3 g Sodium: 698.4 mg (without the salt)

Ingredients:

  • 2 (15 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3 1/2 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 (10 oz) cans tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 red bell pepper, minced
  • 4 oz can diced green chiles
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ancho chile powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 16 oz (2) skinless chicken breast
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, divided
  • 2 medium scallions, diced
  • cut limes, for serving
  • 1 medium haas avocado, sliced
  • sour cream, for serving (optional)

Instructions:
Take one can of beans and place in the blender along with 2 cups of the chicken broth; puree then add to your slow cooker. Add the remainder of the beans and chicken broth into the slow cooker along with tomatoes, bell pepper, diced green chiles, cumin, chile powder, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, chicken breast, and 1/4 cup of the cilantro. Set slow cooker to HIGH 4 hours or LOW 6 to 8 hours.

*My family doesn’t like cilantro, so I omitted that ingredient.  I also placed additional chicken breasts into the crock pot to use separate from the soup.  I used these chicken breasts for topping my salads through the week for lunch.

001  It is delish!  You will want to make it again.

Leave a Reply

