Find The Right Workout Partner

Finding a good workout partner can be the solution to taking your fitness to the next level.   You will perform better, have a spotter, a partner to give you a good kick in the butt when you need it, and you will be less likely to miss a workout.

I have always had a workout partner in some form or fashion.  I “happened”  into meeting all of my training buddies through doing things that interested me at different times in my life.  (I don’t believe that things just “happen” but that there is a divine orchestration to it all).

For instance, years ago I tried out a spin class and the instructor was a competitive triathlete.  His enthusiasm was contagious.  He soon formed a team from all of us.  I never would have thought I could have competed in duathlons, but thanks to training with the team, it took my fitness to the next level and boosted my confidence.

I met my best friend in a boxing gym where we did Muay Thai and grappled together.  I never would have imagined meeting one of my dearest friends in that gym.  It was a hole in the wall with some stinkay feet;) & only a few women as members, but God brought us together.  I introduced her to the world of weights;) lol  She had never lifted before, but she had a strong desire and we were so supportive of each other so it was a match made in heaven:)

IMG_5575

I happened to meet a judge from a bikini competition who owned a powerlifting gym.  He encouraged me to workout sometime there, so I thought, what the heck!  Powerlifting was a sport that I never even thought of doing, but the females in the gym were all encouraging.  It seemed like fun because many of the gym members would train together & have light-hearted banter.  It was another great experience that challenged me to go beyond my comfort zone.

537684_434401526626977_1401915283_n

Maybe you are interested in Zumba, Crossfit or doing races.  Do the things you love and be open to meeting great workout partners along the way.

WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN A GOOD WORKOUT BUDDY:

  • Similar goals and a fitness level that is close to yours’.  If you are skinny and want to get stronger and more defined, someone who is wanting to lose 50lbs. isn’t a good fit.
  • Discipline and matching work ethic.  If you want to get after it but they want to chat for 5 min in between sets or check their phone all the time, that person isn’t going to be a good workout partner.
  • Punctuality.  A person you can depend on.
  • Friendship.  Everything is better with a friend.  Your friendship will get even better as you work hard together.

Ecclesiastes 4:9  New Living Translation
Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed.

Leave a Reply

