Find Your Fire To Be The Best At What You Do

fearsome

This week I was inspired by a feature on the NFL Network, “A Football Life: The Fearsome Foursome.”  It moved me so much that I have since watched the episode several times.  The Fearsome Foursome was the Los Angeles Rams’ defensive line that included Lamar Lundy, Deacon Jones, Merlin Olson and Rosey Grier.  These men brought the thunder to the game of football and life.

They each stood tall in their own right, but as teammates they walked among the clouds.   Deacon said, “We were perfect together. A perfect marriage.”  Elizabeth Jones, Deacon’s wife, commented,  “The love – genuine love – between the four of them is something extraordinary to see.”  When they hit the field the level of excitement soared.

These men were the best at what they did.  We can honor their legacy by being the best at whatever we choose to do in life.  If that is being an athlete,  nurse,  preacher, artist or teacher.  Whatever you do, do it with every fiber of your being.  Leave nothing on the field.  Give it your all.  The Apostle Paul said it like this,

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,  Colossian 3:23

A month before Merlin past away, his daughters found a personal mission statement he had written in a folder.  Olson held himself to a high standard which in turn enabled him to rise up to his fullest potential as a human being.  When Rosey was asked if he could think of anything at all that Merlin did that was not good or if he could say anything bad about him, his answer was an immediate no.  (I do remember Rosey laughing earlier in the episode about Olson’s lack of rhythm:)

These men are extraordinary role models for us all.   My prayer is that we all bring out the best in those in our sphere of influence, that we show our personal greatness in our own unique ways & find the inner fire, the spirit & resolve to be the best at what we do.  God, give us the grace to be extraordinary!

Olsen’s mission statement reads: “The focus of my life begins at home with family, loved ones and friends. I want to use my resources to create a secure environment that fosters love, learning, laughter and mutual success. I will protect and value integrity. I will admit and quickly correct my mistakes. I will be a self-starter. I will be a caring person. I will be a good listener with an open mind. I will continue to grow and learn. I will facilitate and celebrate the success of others.

 

Leave a Reply

