Get a Back of Steel

Have you ever been rolling along feeling hopeful about your life then something goes wrong that deflates all that optimism?  One setback can cause you to doubt yourself and bring on a series of negative thoughts that bring you down.  You can’t let that happen!

Whatever the setback, disappointment or failure, you must commit to follow through and not give up on yourself so easily.

I hate that I am the type of person that has to learn through the school of hard knocks, but at least I eventually get the lesson.  Lol:)  Experience has always been my best teacher and what I’ve been learning is that I must have a backbone and not a wish bone if I want to succeed.

The list goes on and on of amazing people who had many moments of brilliance but also many moments of failure and defeat.  What they all share in common is backbone.  They didn’t give up so easily.  They were committed to seeing it through all they way.

  • Oprah Winfrey, at the age of 22, was fired from her job as a television reporter because she was “unfit for TV.”
  • Before landing “I Love Lucy,” Lucille Ball was widely regarded as a failed actress and a B-movie star and even dubbed “Queen of the Bs” in the 1940s.
  • When Michael Jordan was cut from his high school basketball team he cried, but he didn’t quit.  Jordan said, “I have missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I have lost almost 300 games. On 26 occasions I have been entrusted to take the game winning shot, and I missed. I have failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”
  • Thomas Edison went through over ten thousand prototypes before getting the light bulb right.

You can hope for something and when it doesn’t work out then you give yourself an out.  It’s easy to have a wishbone, but it takes real strength to own up to your part in the failure and try again.

Training is symbolic for me.  It’s not just about lifting weights, it’s about me becoming stronger in every way.  I am determined not to give up on myself, not to let my failures define me, but to have a backbone of steel.   When I workout there is more to it than the aesthetics, it’s a way to keep my spirit fired up.  When your spirit is strong then you have the power to turn your setbacks into comebacks and failures into achievements.

With all that being said, here is my “Back of Steel Workout” from last week.  (It’s still a work in progress on thickening it up.)

027

One arm row superset with pullover  4×10

T-Bar row superset with close grip pulldown  4×10

Wide grip pulldown superset with wide grip machine row 4×10

One arm cable pulldown 3×12

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

