Healthy Treats For A Halloween Bash

Dressing up for Halloween never gets old even for us grown ups!  It can be hard for me to come up with costume ideas, but while we were watching the Underworld series I thankfully found my inspiration:)  I have always teasingly referred to my guy as my ‘Wolf Man,’ so Little Red Riding Hood and the Big Bad Wolf sounded like the perfect couples costumes! LOL

FullSizeRender (50)  FullSizeRender (13)

I believe play is just as pivotal for adults as it is for kids.  Play brings joy. And it’s vital for problem solving, creativity and relationships.  If you are being told you are a fuddy duddy, you need to loosen up or that you’re too serious then it sounds like you are past due for some good old-fashioned PLAY!  I have to admit, I had so much fun getting us ready for a Halloween Bash at my friend’s house.  I’m by no means crafty or a make-up artist, but I didn’t let that stop me from throwing some make-up on my Wolf Man and making my cape with glue:)

I’ve been realizing the idea that we don’t have to be perfect to create something.  If we have a desire and want to create something then we need to do that. I love this quote by Elizabeth Gilbert,

The point is not for you to do something that’s never been done before. The point is for you to do something you’ve never done before.

I hope you find joy in creating just for the sheer play and fun that it bring you.

Here are some of my original and not so original “Little Red Riding Hood” treats I took to a Halloween Bash.  I wasn’t sure how these healthy treats would go over, but I took them anyway and everyone seemed to enjoy them:)

Pumpkin Spice Energy Ball

Image (5) Image (4)

*recipe by Dani Spies http://cleananddelicious.com/2014/09/30/pumpkin-spice-energy-balls/

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup almond butter
  • ¼ cup pumpkin puree
  • ½ cup almond flour
  • 1 tbsp. real maple syrup *I used a TBS stevia
  • 1 tbsp. chia seed
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • 1.5 ounces dark chocolate *depending on mood, I omit this and add cacao nibs

Directions:

In a large bowl combine almond butter, pumpkin puree, almond flour, maple syrup, chia seeds, pumpkin pie spice, and kosher salt.  Mix until everything is well incorporated.

Scoop up about 1 tbsp. of ‘dough’ and roll in the palm of your hands to create a small, golf-sized ball.  You should get about 8 balls.

Place the balls on a plate lined with parchment paper in the freezer while you melt your chocolate.

Set up a double boiler (see example in this video).  Add two ounces of dark chocolate and stir periodically until the chocolate has melted down.

Remove the pumpkin balls from the freezer and dip each one in the chocolate to coat half of the pumpkin ball.  Place back on the parchment paper and continue until you have dipped all the pumpkin balls.

Place them back in the freezer and enjoy any time you need a quick and delicious nutrient packed snack.

Makes 8 balls.

Quinoa Chocolate Chips

Y’all these are surprisingly delicious and satisfying.  Please try them and share your feedback-:)

FullSizeRender (15)

Ingredients: 

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oatmeal

1 cup cooked and cooled quinoa

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut

1/3 cup chocolate chips *mix in at the end

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

2 eggs

1/4 cup coconut sugar (or use brown sugar)

2/3 cup Stevia

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and lightly grease with cooking spray.
  2. Mix together: eggs, vanilla, yogurt, sugar until combined.
  3. Stir in the flour, salt and baking soda & baking powder until just combined. Add the oats, quinoa, and coconut.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and gently stir in the chocolate chips.
  5. Use a spoon or cookie scoop to scoop the dough into 2-3 tablespoon-sized portions. Bake for 8-10 minutes until the bottoms are browned but the insides are still nice and soft. If you want a thinner cookie (instead of puffy), flatten slightly before baking.

Image (3)

*I make a double batch and freeze what is left so that I will always have a healthy treat on hand when I have a craving.  ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

