Create A Vision Board

I devoted some time before New Year’s Eve to work on goal setting for 2016, but it just felt so…well, boring and hard.  I decided to take on a different approach and make the process more fun and inspirational by creating a vision board.  The process of creating a vision board helped free up my mind and open up my heart to my real wants and desires.  If  you struggle with knowing what it is that you want, this is an exercise that will help bring you clarity.

What is a vision board?

A vision board is a collage of images of anything you desire in life.  It represents your dreams, goals and ideal life.

Do vision boards work?

Yes!  The powers involved in creating it of faith, visualization, focus of thought and expectation is what brings the magic.

Olympic athletes have been using it for decades to improve performance, and Psychology Today reported that the brain patterns activated when a weightlifter lifts heavy weights are also similarly activated when the lifter just imagined (visualized) lifting weights. *http://www.huffingtonpost.com/elizabeth-rider/the-scientific-reason-why_b_6392274.html

As a teenager I never knew of a vision board, but I always had a cork board in my bedroom where I would post pictures and words that spoke to my heart.  Many of those dreams became a reality and some of them manifested in a way that I didn’t expect.  For example, I had a photograph of children in Africa with the heading of ‘Ethiopia.’  I always thought I would do mission work there, and I did, but not in Ethiopia.  In 2007 I traveled to Cameroon, Africa and volunteered for 2 months.  I worked with orphans, took medicines to families suffering with HIV and helped Pastor Teh Francis start up his beautiful foundation, Goodness and Mercy Missions.  http://gmmafrica.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=21&Itemid=186

FullSizeRender (45)

This is one of several examples in my life, but there are many others that share stories of the positive outcomes of having a vision board.

What makes it work?

The act of getting into that space of possibility stirs up positive vibes.  This in turn activates the law of attraction.   Keep in mind that this visualization tool doesn’t mean all your dreams will come true, but it does keep you motivated to WORK for all those goals you want to accomplish.

Jack Canfield, the beloved originator of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series and success coach says,

Because your mind responds strongly to visual stimulation-by representing your goals with pictures and images-you will actually strengthen and stimulate your emotions…  and your emotions are the vibrational energy that activates the Law of Attraction.

How to create a vision board

MATERIALS:

  • Poster board, cork board, or a sketch pad
  • Magazines (my local library sets out old magazines free for the taking in the lobby)
  • Printed images  ie, if you want to travel do a google image search for “travel the world.”  Print the image that grabs you.
  • Scissors
  • Glue sticks, stick pins, or tape
  • Paper and pen
  • Sharpie or a markers (optional)
  • embellish with whatever your heart desires…
  • Or opt for doing a vision board on Pinterest or on your desktop.  Here is a link for a phone app http://jackcanfield.com/free-vision-board-app/

GETTING STARTED:

The major rule to creating a vision board is that there aren’t any rules.  There is no right or wrong way to do this.  The important thing is to just get started.

  1. I began by simply cutting out pictures and words that inspired and me.
  2. After I was satisfied with my collection of images and words I sorted them into categories.
  3. Next, I used stick pins and, sometimes tape, to post them on my board.
  4. I then edited and moved things around a bit.  I wrote positive affirmations above some of the images and words.
  5. Finally, I placed the vision board in the room where I have my morning devotions.  This ensures that I will look at it every day and practice visualizing my dreams.
  6. After creating my vision board I’ve been able to form more traditional goals with action steps.

That’s one of the big benefits of creating a vision board, it motivates you out of inertia to take action and work toward accomplishing your goals.

IMG_1885FullSizeRender (17)FullSizeRender (24)FullSizeRender (43)

I sorted my board into sections:  relationships, self development, spirituality, career, creative expression, and dream home desires -:)

On my vision board I have material things I want and the feelings I want to experience in myself and in my relationships.

IMG_1916 FullSizeRender (40)

FullSizeRender (38)

I’m sure that throughout the year that some of my goals and desires may shift and that’s why I prefer using tape and stick pins to allow flexibility to edit.

**Creating a vision board is something fun you can share with family and friends.  Here is a fun youtube video of a family making vision boards.  It’s adorable!  I can’t wait for my fiance’s grandkids to be old enough to do this with me:)  http://youtu.be/XVJqjMDgai8

So whether you set resolutions or not, creating a vision board is a fun way to stay focused on what you want in 2016!  Cheers to a bright and Happy New Year!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Create A Vision Board

  1. Pingback: Shift Out Of Boredom and Into Beast Mode | Healthy Justice

Leave a Reply

