Shift Out Of Boredom and Into Beast Mode

“Do one thing everyday that scares you.”  Eleanor Roosevelt

This quote is always in the back of mind, and this year I want to embody it more.  You see I’m a peacemaker type, so I’ve struggled for most of my life with being clear on my wants and being assertive.   It’s my focus this year to show up in my life in a more active and self-initiating way.

If you are bored and living on autopilot then this is an idea that could bring you that creative spark.  I’ve been exploring new fitness activities.  My normal workouts at the gym have gotten a bit stale so I’ve been wanting to shake things up a bit.

A couple of weeks ago I tried jiu jitsu, a type of martial art that focuses on grappling and ground fighting. I was curious so I thought I would try it out.  It was so strange being tossed and manipulated into an arm bar or neck hold, but I went along with it…for about 2+ hours!  LOL Have you ever went to another country and tried to speak the native language when you knew you were totally clueless?  Well, that’s exactly what grappling felt like to me.  But, I’m glad I put myself out there and tried something foreign to me!

This past weekend I got to take a concealed handgun course.  It was a scary and invigorating! The only gun I’d ever held or shot was a bebe gun that my fiance’ showed me how to use in our backyard.   Needless to say I was nervous just holding the various guns at the range, but by the end of the day I was firing away and enjoying myself! The course was 2 days and it was phenomenal.

FullSizeRender (6)

I’m getting one-on-one instruction from one of the instructors.  http://www.phobossolutions.com/about.html

FullSizeRender (5) FullSizeRender (4)

By the end of the day I was feeling good and empowered about the whole experience.

My next adventure is to scope out a krav maga.  I guess you can tell I have some pent up aggression. Seriously, you might be surprised that you do too especially if you are a pleaser and go with the flow.  It’s important to find an outlet to release this energy and learn to transform it into personal power.

What to do if you can’t find your passion?

  • Make a list of the things in your life that excite you.  Don’t edit yourself.  What kind of person would you be if you could?  What steps could you take today to become more like that person?  This week?  This year?  The Wisdom of the Enneagram 
  • Follow your curiosity, it is the real key to an interesting and creative life.  It doesn’t have to be major things like skydiving or traveling overseas.  It could be as simple as learning to garden or exploring new areas of your city.
  • Create a vision board.  This will give you clarity and inspiration as you free your mind and let your heart speak.  https://healthyjustice.wordpress.com/2016/01/03/create-a-vision-board/

Where will your curiosity lead you?  It already sounds exciting!

4 thoughts on “Shift Out Of Boredom and Into Beast Mode

  1. Congrats on receiving your conceal/carry permit. My father taught me to shoot when I was 11 or 12. I remember vividly the feel as the handgun went off. I was a good learner. My family calls me Dead-eye Vic! So I like this post about being adventurous and daring. I challenge you to find a women’s class on skeet or trap shooting. You will LOVE it.

    • Thanks Vicky! I’m glad my blog reminded you of such a good memory with you and your dad:) I would have never thought of skeet or trap shooting. I will have to investigate-:)

Leave a Reply

