Buff Bride: How I’m Getting Ready For My Wedding Day

We’re getting married!

Planning our wedding has been fun with only some stress since we are keeping it simple.  We decided on a beach wedding with an exotic honeymoon in the rainforest of Puerto Rico!  We have no color scheme, just the backdrop of a sunset and ocean waters.  Just thinking about it is relaxing.

Our love story began December 8, 2012 at a powerlifting meet in Hattiesburg, MS.  It was my first competition, and I was a bundle of nerves and pre workout!  He had showed up to support his daughters who happened to be my teammates.

IMG_1583

My first thought about him was how inspirational he was, and he said it was my aura that drew him to me-:)  After the meet we all meet up at the restaurant to celebrate our wins.  He drove me home that night, and we both knew we hand discovered someone special.

We’ve had our ups and downs, but a perfect relationship isn’t perfect, it’s just that both people never give up.

couple holding

This might sound crazy (love can do that to ya!) but we’ve been engaged a couple of times before, but on March 26th of this year it was for real!  My baby told me he would never leave me, and he gave me his grandmother’s ring—again;)

I’m excited to be sharing my wedding journey with you in my Buff Bride Wedding Series, along with tips and diet advice to help you look and feel great for your big day!  It’s my hope that getting fit can be more about fun and an escape from all the mania that can come with wedding planning.

My first tip is to enjoy the journey, and here’s how:

  • When you feel stressed reflect on your love story.
  • Find humor in the small scale problems that pop up.
  • Laugh!  It decreases stress hormones, boosts your immune system and does wonders for your mood.

I would love to hear where you met your bride or groom, and see a couple’s photo!  Be sure to hashtag #healthyjustice when you share:)  Let’s go from barbells to wedding bells together!

IMG_1637

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

