Are You Ready For A Miracle?

This Summer I took an Insanity Live training class, and I was so inspired by the positive energy of my instructor that I wanted to share her story with you.  Erin Scott’s journey with weight loss offers hope that no matter how bleak it seems, it’s possible to change the entire trajectory of your life.

About 8 years ago Erin was depressed, well over 200 lbs, in one toxic relationship after another and in crippling debt.  In order to make ends meet and keep up with student loans she was working as a research associate, and also had two part-time jobs: scooping ice cream and serving coffee and the other waiting tables at an Italian brick-oven pizza restaurant.

The stress of that life was taking a toll on her and food became her comfort.  Life was spiraling out of control until something magical happened…

One day when she was gorging on a cheese calzone and sprawled out on her living room’s pull-out couch, a Turbo Jam infomercial for a home workout came on the TV.  In that moment desperation and opportunity met.  The fog lifted and clarity took center stage.

before_01162012 Erin knew she needed to change the path she was on.  She explained, “I was ashamed to step foot in a gym to make the change I knew I desperately needed.  As I was wiping cheese grease off of my face I heard the infomercial  voice over say, “never do a crunch on the floor again,” and that right there sealed the deal for me!  LOL!”  She went on to say that she couldn’t afford it, but she took a leap of faith.  That’s where the magic happened.

It doesn’t matter if you are broke, busted and disgusted, Providence does not discriminate.  When your opportunity clock goes off and you respond with action something miraculous is going to happen.

Erin’s weight loss journey started with working out in her living room.

She didn’t respond with excuses, instead, she seized her opportunity to transform herself.  Along with doing the Beachbody home workouts, Erin also followed their nutrition program and lost 50 pounds. “That was just the start,” she said. “I gained so much more confidence in myself. I was able to come off of my anti-depressant medication, and I began to eliminate those toxic relationships in my life. I began to see light again, after being in such a dark place for a long time.”

I regained my sense of self-worth. I’m in the best shape of my life.

before_after

Erin’s weight loss journey helped bring her life’s purpose into focus.  She realized that she wanted to share her passion for health and fitness.  After going through all of her struggles and coming out on the other side, it’s her desire to inspire others to reach their potential.

These days Erin is loving life and she attributes who she has become to her faith in God.
966815_10151832823437895_242294320_oErin’s advice if you’re stuck in a rut, unhappy with your career, love life, and body:

  1. Be honest with yourself about what you want. What do you REALLY want?
  2. Pray.  It’s easy to get so stuck in our own heads and it serves us well to talk to God openly and with as much vulnerability as possible. In that process, you might start to see options that you hadn’t considered before.
  3. If prayer is not your jam then seek out wise counsel from knowledgeable people who can point you in the right direction.
  4. Be humble.  Trying to figure it all out on your own seems like the easiest way. It’s not. It can actually be the most difficult–and it’s a more prideful way. Take a step back & work with someone you like and trust to guide you and have enough belief in yourself to see it through.

Erin is a fitness educator, Team Beachbody Master Trainer, coach, group fitness instructor, and owner of SillyFit Inc.  Read mor1609944_10152130998347895_3618979090057837505_ne information about Erin @ http://sillyfit.com

Leave a Reply

