Our Wedding Day

donnatalie100

I’ve always dreamed of being married outside so this time around I was excited to plan a romantic beach wedding.  I couldn’t wait to say our vows with the sun setting behind the emerald blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. The week of our wedding that vision came to a squeaky halt when the rains came in and it didn’t stop!

I went back and forth between disappointment and hope.  I finally accepted that Mother Nature can’t be stopped and that I needed to get a grip on my perception of things.  Instead of fighting against the circumstances I decided to embrace the rain and make the best of it!

It would be fun kissing in the rain!  LOL  We could get a picture like the sexy one from the movie Notebook where Allie and Noah kiss in the pouring rain:)

I was about to get blue rain boots and white umbrellas, but my man stopped me!  That was a bit much whimsy for him;)  In my quest to find the silver lining I discovered the superstition that rain on your wedding day is good luck!

Superstitions of rainy wedding days: 
  • It symbolizes cleansing from sadness in your past.
  • When you “tie the knot” on a rainy day is signifies that your marriage will last.  This is because a knot that becomes wet is very hard to untie.
  • Rain signifies washing away of bad memories or occurrences.  The gift in this is that you get a completely new, fresh chapter in your life.

Don and I have both been through a lot so these beautiful thoughts resonated with me.

The good news is that we had the luck of the rain without getting rained on!  The hour of our ceremony the rains stopped.😀  It was perfect and all about us.

donnatalie056

  When you’re older, you’ve been through things, you’ve made mistakes. So you come into it (a second marriage) still giddy, but wanting it to last.  -Nicole Kidman

Sometimes it takes a heartbreak to shake us awake, at least it did for me.  I have found that everything that I went through makes me appreciate my husband and our life together even more.

donnatalie050

In our ceremony our wedding officiant, Ken, had us take a moment to talk about our wishes. We then threw our seashells into the giant wishing well.  Afterwards I got hoisted off my feet and the games were on! LOL

donnatalie104

Not exactly the Notebook scene, but we sure did a lot of kissing that day and still do!❤️

donnatalie079

Some things really are better the second time around.

img_3628

 

Leave a Reply

