How To Get Past Self-Doubt

e70ac32b65a192c48a868b98692ab651What if I told you that believing in yourself is a concern of God’s?   Humility is a virtue, but there is nothing honorable about walking around defeated and insecure.  Philippines 4:13 says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  How many times have we quoted this verse, but not really believed the words?

Self-doubt used to be a major factor in my life and continues to be in varying degrees, but I’m so much better these days.  I’m sure my being small , (one of my coaches used to call me half pint;), having a soft voice and being taught to be a good girl played a role in these insecurities.  God has been teaching me throughout my life that just because I might feel small that doesn’t mean I don’t have greatness inside of me.

c0ff8da792dc7bca83be36a925c8343d

I believe we all have potential.  Romans 12:3 says He has dealt to every man the measure of faith.  The key is to expose yourself to people, challenges and opportunities that will draw out the greatness that is inside.

You can’t overcome what you can’t confront. TD Jakes

Steps to confront your fears and achieve your potential:

  • Notice the voices of self-doubt in your head.  The monsters inside your head aren’t so scary when you turn the lights on!  Understand that you might fail, people might judge you and they won’t always love you or your work.  That’s okay.  What’s important here is that YOU love YOU.
  • Do it afraid.  You don’t have to be perfect, that’s not what this is about.  It’s about you learning to believe in yourself.  It’s about who you become by confronting your fears and doubts.  Moses was one of the most insecure people in the Old Testament, but he was also one of the greatest leaders of all time.  One of the things that made him great was that he did things afraid.

In spite of his speech impediment, Moses stuttered his way to greatness!

  • Lean into the discomfort.   There will be opportunities presented to you that are not going to feel natural but YOU CAN push through.  When your mind screams no, let it have it’s temper tantrum, and just keep on pushing a bit beyond your comfort zones.

d9781d429de485881f054ca6a7ca41a0

 

Leave a Reply

