Homemade BBQ Sauce

The other day I took a stroll down the condiment aisle of the grocery store to pick up a bottle of barbeque sauce.  After a few minutes my eyes glazed over from trying to decode all the artificial flavors and preservatives listed in the ingredients.  The top ingredient, high fructose corn syrup, is one of the most toxic food additives found in processed foods that contributes to obesity.

I thought to myself, I could drive 45 minutes to Whole Foods or I could make my own.  I decided that it couldn’t be that hard to make homemade barbeque sauce.  I was right!  It’s so easy and more flavorful!

Here is my recipe, but I’ve also shared a couple of links for slightly different versions so you can figure out which one you would like best.😊

IMG_2429

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 tablespoon paprika

1 teaspoon turmeric or dry mustard

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves (optional)

3 tablespoons coconut sugar (or brown sugar)

1 tablespoon of stevia *(if you don’t like stevia use 4 TBS of coconut sugar)

1 cup ketchup (organic or Hunt’s 100% Natural)

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup water

2 tablespoons molasses

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon coarsely ground cracked black pepper

IMG_2428

DIRECTIONS: Mix well in a pot.  Then cook over low heat for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Wait a few hours to allow the flavors to meld. Store in the refrigerator up to 2 weeks.  I made a double batch and froze half to have it on hand.

Other recipes to look at:

Homemade BBQ Sauce Made Healthier

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/neelys-bbq-sauce-recipe.html

 Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.– Jim Rohn

Leave a comment